36. Old Soul

by 4linnea

Happy day-after-the-season-premiere-of-30Rock everyone! Hope you enjoyed your fill of Kenneth in his green tights and Liz in her dickey. I’m glad we’re all surviving this rapture year so far, and I hope that you all rock the hell out of 2012.  It’s your last chance to do so after all.

I plan to spend this year continuing to do my favorite elderly activities.  You know, jigsaw puzzles, reading books, doing the crossword in the newspaper, and “staying in” to watch TV with friends.  As Will, from Will & Grace, said,” I’m not really doing anything. Just a night of soup and online Yahtzee.”  That sounds perfect to me.  That’s why I love being an old soul.  I have always been one since I was little, so maybe that means that when I’m old, I’ll have the privilege of being a young soul.  It’s like I’ve been living life for 60 years, but in reality it’s been a third of that.  At school, I refer to everyone else as “the kids” (because of course, I couldn’t possibly one of those rotten kids… ??)  I shake my head at “the youths” these days (and yes, I call them that).  The Y generation. Kids these days.  We’re the worst.  Pull your pants up! Look me in the eye when we talk! I kid.  I know that I am one of those kiddos too, but I try my best to better than that.  But, I do seriously feel like I’m 60 sometimes.  I’ll say things like, “no, let’s just stay in and play an exciting couple rounds of Rummikub or Scrabble!”  “How about we sit here for 5 or 6 hours straight and put together this jigsaw puzzle that is just a field of flowers?”  One of my favorite old souls on television is Manny from Modern Family with his espresso each morning, sophisticated fashion sense, and his sage advice.

Something I thought up the other day is not very mature at all, and I’m excited to get some friends together and try it.  It’s called, well I’m not sure yet (being honest, I haven’t really given it that much thought yet), BUT what you do is, when it’s raining and you’re walking around lots of other people with umbrellas (such as a college campus) you hop from umbrella to umbrella.  As many as you can get under, as to still stay dry.  And guess what, you don’t have to carry your own umbrella.  Plus you’ll make lots of new friends.  Well, maybe.

I’ve been thinking about just how many embarrassing moments I have in life, and I really enjoy it.  So, what I will do is make a post soon (or possibly a published book) of my favorite (or not-so-favorite) embarrassing moments.  For those of you who have seen the new show, New Girl, I’d like to say I am similar to Zooey Deschanel’s character, Jess, but less charming.  More awkward.  Just as my best friend, Maggie, calls me, Richard.  (my awkward alter ego who does socially embarrassing things).  Just to give you a taste, here’s my most recent example.  At Christmas eve service at church, we “took a second to greet and say hello to those around you”, so naturally, I turn around and shake hands with a guy (clearly with his girlfriend).  He says, “Hi, my name is Matt”.  I say, “Hi, my name is Matt.  …..Wait, I mean my name’s Linnea.  Sorry.”  I turn around and sit down.  That’s the end of that story.

P.S. This post is dedicated to the first cold-streak and snowfall of the season.  The world is wonderful and white with snow.  And that is good.  Very good.

Over & Out

Currently listening to: Two of my favorite folk covers, which I am currently learning on piano.  They are beautiful!

1.Bon Iver’s cover of Bonnie Raitt’s- I Can’t Make You Love Me

2. James Vincent McMorrow’s cover of Steve Winwood’s 80’s classic- Higher Love

Someone just had to go and poke winter awake & all the fresh cold reminded us of this  

