30. Puzzles

by 4linnea

Life is simply complex.  And that’s enough. I’d say, life is comparable to those hand-held, plastic puzzles where you move the squares until each image matches up correctly to form a bigger image.  It’s unbelievably frustrating, and it seems that it’s not even possible.  I’m a puzzle-aholic, and those are, by far, my least favorite puzzles ever.  I give up from sheer mental exhaustion before I even get close to solving it.  Someone was very bored (and full of hate) when they thought up that wonderful idea.  Anyway, even if you figure it out, you have no idea how and couldn’t explain it to another human being no matter how much you’d like to.  You think you figured out something about life, and maybe you did, but it simply happened out of your control and never could you take full credit for the accomplishment.

Today at a garage tale, there were lots of jigsaw puzzles for sale.  Which by the way, I will take this moment to make another observation about sneaky garage-salers.  As much as I am interested in psychology, I find it incredibly disheartening when our psychological defects are taken advantage of for the purpose of sales.  It is expected in the mega retail world, but at a small, local garage sale?  The garage-sellers? number one, put a giant NASA astronaut statue right at the front of the garage sale so as you pass by, you become enticed and think that this garage sale just might be different than all the other boring suburban garage sales, and just maybe they have some really interesting, eccentric items.  Alas, this was not the case because on the astronaut’s helmet were Post-Its which said: NOT FOR SALE, BUT LOOK AT THE THINGS BEHIND ME.  Psh, yeah right Mr. NASA.  Behind you were tables of stained baby clothes, Junie B. Jones books, and a slab of expensive marble.  Bore.  They also strategically placed a nice riding lawn mower at an angle in the front yard, but again, not for sale.  It’s just a siren, luring the suburban moms in to spend their cash.  Now, back to those jigsaw puzzles.  I think all I was going to do, was point out the trust you must have in people to buy used jigsaw puzzles at a garage sale, especially when they are thrown in a Ziploc bag.  That 1,500 piece puzzle could be missing 3o0 pieces, but you’re not gonna know.  I guess that’s kinda the fun of puzzles, you never know if at the end you’re going to fully complete it since some piece could be missing, or like myself and many others I know, you may hide a piece in your pocket so that you get to feel that victory and place that very last piece into it’s spot.  (Don’t forget to wait a little bit after the panic has started that there’s a piece missing and the dog starts to get blamed for eating it.)

I saw online the other day that someone found a Brian Andreas, Storypeople book at, not a garage sale, but a Goodwill store.  I am incredibly jealous of this and it’s just one more reason this garage sale disappointed me today- there were no interesting or good books at all.  Brian Andreas is the creator of Storypeople.  It’s these prints with colorful creatures on a white background with these quotes or little poems written around them.  Scroll through this page for some great examples.  I LOVE his writing.  Beautifully human and real.

This is a picture of the future & you’ll notice that there’s a lot of blank space because people haven’t made up their minds about it & the future doesn’t have a lot of time for that kind of indecisiveness.

There has never been a day when I have not been proud of you, I said to my daughter, though some days I’m louder about other stuff so it’s easy to miss that.

I’m beginning to think peace is something we made up to keep us from being satisfied with all this luscious chaos.

Along with Brian Andreas, I’ve been reading a lot of poetry lately.  I need to own some more poetry books (although my copy of Zombie Haiku by Ryan Mecum usually satisfies my braaiinnss).  Poetry, like any other type of writing, can’t get old.  Just re-read and re-peat.  Lately, I’ve been loving all of Pablo Neruda’s poems.  Here’s one of his poems in both Spanish and English. There’s tons more.  Look them up and bask in their loveliness.  Another poet I’m been enjoying is Gabriel Gadfly.  My two absolute favorites so far are: How to Greet Deathand the more cutesy, Location, Location, Location:

I could have kissed you
under cherry blossoms,
pale petals drifting down
like the trees wanted to
pretend they could be
snowclouds.

I could have kissed you
in the rain, drenched to
our bones and not even
caring that the skies
opened up above us
and tried to wash us out.

I could have kissed you
in a clearing in the most
secluded woods, with
just the sound of wind
rustling through the leaves
and a few voyeuristic
finches peeping at us.

Instead, I kissed you
in the parking lot of a
Waffle House, just shy
of 2 a.m. in the middle
of a hectic week, with
our waitress grinning
at us from the other
side of the window,
because, honestly,
how could I not?

-Gabriel Gadfly

Recently, I started an account on GoodReads.com.  On it, I’m able to track and rate all of the books I’ve read as well as mark ones I’d like to read, recommend and receive recommendations from friends and follow author’s posts and updates.  So, if you would by any stretch of the word call yourself a bookworm, or heck, just like reading from time-to-time, you should get on there and keep your literacy levels up.

I don’t know if I’d say I’m growing up, but if one thing’s certain, I’m coming to understand just how much I need God.  How stupid I can be as a human being and how displaced my brain and heart are.  It’s so nice to know that in life, this is not everything, and there is something out there that can always get it right and help you out with getting it right.  That’s why I like writing.  I don’t have to get it right, and I can just share my heart knowing that others might think the same thing, because (back to my life motto) we’re all human.  Writing is a cool way to share human experiences and share all the times when we don’t get it right and those few, but heartening moments when we do.  It’s all a fun, little puzzle I’d say.

P.S. This post is dedicated to the girl from the Sun Drop soda commercials that wears a sweatband and (most importantly) leggings underneath her jean shorts.  You are straight-up marvelous.  Wurd.

Over & Out

Currently listening to: Mikky Ekko- Who Are You Really?

“you are like nobody since I love you” -Pablo neruda

