28. Vacationing

by 4linnea

About 5 hours ago I returned home from a week-long beach vacation- some great mother/daughter bonding time, ya know.  Each day, we spent most of our hours of daylight at the beach relaxing, swimming, and (most importantly) reading.  Living by the water would be the life.  Everything’s okay when you’re at the beach- the world’s alright.  I mean, you’re surrounded by other humans that are enjoying the same natural beauty that you are, you get to eat food while your feet are buried in sand, and you get to read for hours and hours at a time with no agenda.

Over the vacation, I started and finished now one of my all-time favorite books: Little Bee by Chris Cleave.  This section can be called Book Review Corner.  I am not going to give away many details about what the story is actually about because the way the story is told, each piece of information you’re given as the reader is crucial to understanding the whole.  I will tell you that it is about a refugee from Nigeria and the British family whose life is transformed because of hers.  The writing- I can’t even describe to you this writing- it’s great.  Here’s one of my many favorite quotes from the book:

“We used to fight over the little windup box because I liked to listen to the news and the current affairs.  But now that I was hiding in the jungle behind the beach I wish I had never fought with my sister.  Nkiruka loved music and now I saw that she was right because life is extremely short and you cannot dance to current affairs.”

So, uh, all I have to say is that you should read it.  Do it.  Currently, I am reading another book, highly recommend to me called The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein which is also a New York Times Bestseller (as is Little Bee).  It’s from the point of a dog (which yes, I also thought seemed silly and cliché, but this book’s got heart). Bam!  I will keep you updated on my summer reading and make recommendations as I can.

Reasons why coming home (from anything) is great.

1. Your own bed.

No matter how great your home-away-from-home’s bed is, nothing beats that first night back in your own bed-it’s the best.  You get the familiar scent as well as the correct sheet, blanket, and pillow ratio to accommodate your preciseness.

2. Greeting your dog.

It is safe to say that no one is happier to see you home than your dog and that is a great feeling.  As excited as your are to see your little guy, he’s even happier to see you (of course, it doesn’t hurt that you feed and take him outside).

3. Feeling important from having a lot of mail.

Even though you know it is a week’s-worth of mail, seeing the accumulation can’t help but make you feel noticed and even a bit royal.

4. Your food in your refrigerator.

Yeah, that’s delicious.

5. Having the TV channels memorized again.

It’s tough being an American… hey, it’s the little things.

P.S. This post is dedicated to the latest installment of my favorite bit on Conan O’Brien’s show called: The Local News Roundup.  This is nothing more than a mockery of any local news show (since they all truly are universal).  It was one of the funniest things I’ve see on the TV in a while.  Watch the 2½ minute clip here.  SEE THE SPECIAL MAN!!!

Over & Out

Currently listening to: Angus & Julia Stone- Big Jet Plane 

