21. Saddest Movies

by 4linnea

This is a list of movies that will always make me cry (or at least tear up “I think it’s just some dust that got in my eye…”) every time I watch them. Disclaimer: Girls, don’t get all angry-panties at me for not putting The Notebook. I’ve never seen it & I’m not a Nicholas Sparks fan, so get off my case, okay?  Alright, thank you friend.  Enjoy:

7. Good Will Hunting (1997)

Not a particularly sad movie overall, but it has its parts.  Specifically the second when you feel connected to Will and Sean when they cry and hug during the It’s not your fault scene.  Also Sean (Robin Williams) discussing his wife who passed away is just a beautiful story of love.  A lot of this movie is just about living life and valuing experiences.

6. Radio (2003)

This is one of those inspirational movies that is totally acceptable to cry during.  It’s a touching story, ya know?  But man, there is not much sadder than when Radio’s mom dies.  That’s all I need to say.  Just sad.  (And then uplifting because that’s how those movies work, so really it’s all good).

5. Time Traveler’s Wife (2009)

I am not sure how many of you have seen this movie, but I watched it out of love from the novel and the movie is very true to the book- a great representation.  The whole story in itself is pretty sad- being about a guy with this significant flaw of time travelling (and rarely at appropriate times or to safe situations).  Throughout it, you’ll be tearing up (just like with the book) about their story of love and family.  The end, however, is a slap in the face and you’ll start feeling something when Henry (the main character) is about to die and when he actually does in his wife and daughter’s arms.

4. Up (2009)

This has the saddest moment in all of Disney animated history.  I have seen this movie twice and as much as I love it, I don’t know if I will ever watch it again for the sole reason of knowing how it starts- the old man’s wife dying.  Ohhh goshh, don’t do this to me Disney!!

3. Man in the Moon (1991)

This is Reese Witherspoon’s first movie and it is a gem.  I will most likely lose it during the tractor scene every time.  I am not going to say much about this movie or this scene for those you who have not seen it, because you really should invest in the time to watch this film.  All I will say is that after that scene you’ll think that there is no hope ever again for young love.  Your dreams will be crushed after that scene, but keep watching.

2. Love Actually (2003)

This movie is stinkin great.  I don’t care if you are a male, you will still appreciate this movie.  It’s just great.  There are lots of scenes in this film that can get me teary-eyed because of either happiness or sadness.  The saddest and most real scene from this movie is the scene where Emma Thompson has just realized her husband is having an affair and she has to excuse herself to her room to cry.  Pass the tissues.  This link to the clip is in Portuguese, but go to :45 and you’ll understand.


1. My Girl (1991)

This is one of those movies that always seems to be on TV on a Saturday morning and really, your happiness meter can only go up throughout the day.  The saddest scene in cinema history is the memorial scene where Thomas J. is in the casket and Vada starts crying and yelling and quite frankly is just a hot mess.  She starts screaming that Thomas J. needs his glasses on because he can’t see without them.  Basically, if you don’t cry during this scene, you have no soul.

Go off and watch some stand-up comedy now.  There should be a post about movies that make me cry from laughing so hard, coming soon.

P.S. This post is dedicated to popcorn because it is the best movie accompaniment ever.  A giant holla to its salty goodness.

Over & Out

Currently listening to: Radical Face- Glory

